澳大利亚橄榄球联盟昆士兰

用户的故事

AFL 昆士兰州负责整个昆士兰州澳式足球的成长和发展。通过社区俱乐部、学校计划和地方比赛,管理机构提供了跨越 13 个地区、24 个联赛和 159 支球队的表现途径;支持超过 275,000 名昆士兰州的参与者。

领导 AFL 昆士兰的表演项目的是高绩效经理 Paul Turk。他的目标是为昆士兰州有抱负的足球运动员提供磨练才华和发展技能的机会,以期在澳大利亚足球联赛 (AFL) 的顶级职业生涯中取得进步。

“我们领导、教育和指导年轻有抱负的 AFL 球员,因为他们在我们的人才途径计划中继续他们的三年旅程,”保罗解释说。 “我们的目标是为昆士兰州有抱负的 AFL 足球运动员提供精英级别的经验,并帮助他们踏上有希望被选入 AFL 俱乐部的旅程。”

衡量关键指标

保罗在他与这项运动的 14 年协会中曾在各种 AFL 俱乐部执教。在北墨尔本足球俱乐部效力的五年期间,他第一次接触 Catapult。

由于 Paul 非常了解 Catapult 技术及其提供的性能优势,因此他决定实施 Catapult 的 PlayerTek 系统。 “弹射系统是世界一流的。在 AFL 级别使用各种 Catapult 系统多年后,我立刻知道我需要将它们实施到 AFL 昆士兰的人才途径计划中,”保罗说。

在实施 PlayerTek 之后,保罗专门跟踪了澳大利亚足球表现的关键指标。

“由于 AFL 橄榄球是一项高强度间歇运动,我们着眼于球员在高速度区、高冲刺努力和最大速度下的距离。然后我们评估他们在每周的训练和比赛周期中是否达到了特定的速度。”

教育球员

球员教育是昆士兰 AFL 提供的各种计划中的一个中心主题。 Paul 将 PlayerTek 的使用视为支持这些教育计划的有效工具。

“教育是我们课程的基石。我们教育玩家我们正在跟踪什么以及可以帮助他们开发游戏的关键变量。”

自从引入可穿戴技术以来,Paul 和他的团队已经能够识别和交流个人可以改进的领域。 “我们可以教育球员了解比赛的要求,他们现在在哪里,以及他们需要去哪里。我们在他们的计划中开设了课程,教育他们如何使用 GPS 以及他们应该瞄准什么标记,”保罗解释说。

现在球员们对他们的表现可以提高的领域有了更深入的了解,保罗说:“我们的运动员真的投入到他们的职业生涯中,对编程非常感兴趣,想要了解 GPS。”

客观化表现

PlayerTek 还使保罗能够开发自己的表现分析,技术为他以前的教练主观方面带来了客观的角度。

“这项技术消除了猜测。我们确切地知道运动员在做什么,这将有助于他们发挥最高水平。” 

通过让他的见解更加客观,保罗的方法变得更有效率,在有限的时间内向玩家提供更多信息。 “我们没有很长时间的球员,所以每节课都需要计算。 GPS 一直是我们提供每个会话的重要工具,”他说。

关于弹射器的评论

在他的 AFL 职业生涯中,Paul 广泛使用 Catapult 技术来支持他的工作。在利用该技术提供的性能改进的同时,Paul 还享受了作为 Catapult 客户所带来的支持。

“我一直觉得 Catapult 员工非常专业和友好,并且愿意付出更多努力来帮助您从他们的系统中实现您想要的。”

AFL Queensland

User Story

AFL Queensland are responsible for the growth and development of Australian Rules Football throughout the state of Queensland. Through community clubs, school programs and local competitions the governing body provides a performance pathway across 13 regions, 24 leagues and 159 teams; supporting over 275,000 Queensland-based participants.

Heading up the performance programmes at AFL Queensland is High Performance Manager, Paul Turk. His aim is to provide aspiring footballers in Queensland with the chance to hone their talent and develop their skills in the hope progressing towards a career in the Australian Football League (AFL), the top tier of the game.

“We lead, educate and mentor young aspiring AFL players as they go on their three-year journey on our Talent Pathways program,” Paul explains. “Our aim is to give aspiring AFL footballers in Queensland elite-level experience and help them on their journey to hopefully getting drafted to an AFL club.”

Measuring Key Metrics

Paul has coached in various AFL clubs across his 14-year association with the sport. He was first introduced to Catapult during the five years he spent with North Melbourne Football Club.

Since Paul has a good understanding of Catapult technology and the performance benefits it provides, he decided that he would implement Catapult’s PlayerTek system. “Catapult systems are world class. Having used various Catapult systems at AFL level for many years, I knew straight away I needed to implement them into AFL Queensland’s talent pathways programs,” says Paul.

Following the implementation of PlayerTek, Paul specifically tracks the metrics key to Australian Football performance.

“With AFL football being a high intensity interval sport, we look at the distance players cover in high velocity zones, high sprint efforts, and max velocity. Then we assess if they are hitting certain speeds throughout a weekly training and game cycle.”

Educating Players

Player education is a central theme found within the various programs offered by AFL Queensland. Paul sees the use of PlayerTek as an effective tool to support those educational initiatives.

“Education is a cornerstone of our programmes. We educate the players on what we are tracking and key variables that can help them develop their game.”

Since introducing the wearable technology, Paul and his team have been able to identify and communicate the areas in which individuals can improve. “We can educate the players on the demands of the game, where they are now, and where they need to get to. We have sessions throughout their programs, educating them on how we use GPS and what marks they should be aiming for,” explains Paul.

Now that the players have a greater understanding of the areas in which their performance can improve, Paul says that “our athletes are really invested into their careers and are very interested in the programming and want to learn about GPS.”

Objectifying Performance

PlayerTek has also enabled Paul to develop his own performance analysis, with technology bringing an objective angle to previously subjective aspects of his coaching.

“The technology takes out the guesswork. We know exactly what the athletes are doing, and it will help them to perform at the highest level.” 

By making his insights more objective, Paul has become far more efficient in his approach, delivering more information to the players in a limited timeframe. “We don’t have the players for very long, so every session needs to count. GPS has been a vital tool for us in delivering each session,” he says.

Comments about Catapult

Over the course of his AFL career, Paul has used Catapult technology extensively to support his work. Whilst he has taken advantage of the performance improvements that the technology offers, Paul has also enjoyed the support that comes with being a Catapult client.

“I have always found the Catapult staff truly professional and friendly, and willing to go the extra mile to help you achieve what you want out of their systems.”