加拿大曲棍球

用户的故事

亚当·道格拉斯 (Adam Douglas) 在一个冰球就是一切的国家中享有盛誉。他是加拿大国家冰球队所有运动表现的经理。该队与曾在 2015 年、2018 年和 2020 年为男子世界青年队赢得金牌的国家队有着悠久的合作历史。

当道格拉斯没有优化加拿大曲棍球的表现时,亚当作为应用体育科学家在 Catapult Sports 工作。他专注于最大限度地提高客户体验并探索关于“Money Puck”的创新思维方式,在这里数据科学可以为冰球运动员提供冰上竞争优势。

—> 单击此处下载本手册,探索 Catapult 的 45 项曲棍球特定指标

加拿大冰球 1

“我在 2013 年通过 YouTube 视频首次了解到 Catapult,该视频首次介绍了 Catapult 的室内功能,”Adam 说。 “当时,我正在与加拿大冰球女子项目合作。我们正在寻找一种方法来更好地量化练习和比赛的冰上工作量。”

随着 Catapult 在冰球运动方面的研发不断增长并推进其业务线,它找到了更好的解决方案来了解冰球运动的需求。这迫使 Adam 加入 Catapult 团队,并成为数据科学、可穿戴设备和冰球领域开创性方法的一部分。

这个用户故事讨论了:

  • 客户至上
  • 技术创新
  • 通过管理运动员负荷解决伤病
  • 使用数据改进教练决策
  • 教练支持的重要性和“人为因素”

 

—> 单击此处下载本手册,探索 Catapult 的 45 项曲棍球特定指标.

客户至上

作为全球体育分析市场的领导者,Catapult 已经度过了以客户为中心的大流行,继续通过科学和数据分析为体育组织及其运动员提供支持。

“Catapult 开发了一种步幅检测算法,”Adam 描述道,“它使教练、运动员和团队能够查看滑冰时每个步幅产生的合力。这提供了另一层信息,结合 Catapult 已经提供的常规音量和强度指标。”

加拿大冰球 3

技术创新

当其他主要体育运动开始将数据分析和可穿戴设备整合到他们的组织战略中时,冰球作为一项运动在接受这一创新方面进展缓慢。 Catapult 是最早涉足冰球运动的公司之一,它看到了帮助冰球组织及其运动员接受指标的机会。 

一篇独立的学术论文最近调查了 Catapult 系统在识别特定球员运动模式方面的可靠性,亚当说,“让我作为一名从业者确信该系统正在准确地测量冰上发生的事情。” 

Catapult 衡量新指标的能力证明对教练和员工极为有益,让他们能够以前所未有的方式理解和分析比赛以及训练和伤病管理。

“我最常用的指标称为高强度工作持续时间,”亚当说。 “它本质上是一个秒表,记录运动员在某个阈值以上移动或滑行的时间。在进行了大量的时间运动分析并将可穿戴数据与视频匹配后,我开始意识到大多数曲棍球运动或曲棍球发生在 Playerload 波段 3 和 4 中。这个指标让我自己、教练和运动员能够看到在练习以确保我们在训练中最大限度地利用或接近比赛强度的时间。”

加拿大冰球 4

通过管理运动员负荷解决伤病

虽然每支球队都想在冰上“获胜”,但当球员受伤时,球队也有更大的组织优先事项,可能会产生重大的财务影响。受伤的球员仍然有报酬,多名球员受伤不仅意味着经济损失,还可能意味着在冰上输球。  

因此,管理训练和恢复数据有助于做出最合理的短期和长期决策,所有教练和曲棍球组织都应该有机会考虑这些变量,Catapult 通过其工具和分析提供这些变量。    

“(Catapult)技术所能提供的最大帮助,”亚当分享道,“是在性能监控方面。我们能够计划当天的身体和生理负荷并对其进行测量。我们谈论“计划工作然后执行计划”。伤病是运动的重要组成部分,但在 Catapult 技术的帮助下,伤病被最小化并缩短了。”

加拿大冰球 5

使用数据改进教练决策

“每次冰上训练都有一个训练量和强度目标——教练会根据技术/战术结果来计划训练。训练结束后,工作人员将审查数据,以确保我们在训练中达到身体表现目标,”亚当描述道。  

“如果我们这样做了——那么我们就可以继续执行计划……如果我们错过了预期的目标,那么我们就会制定战略,在接下来的日子里我们需要改变什么。”

查看体育分析的绝对数字和数据是一回事,这通常使组织决策变得容易。然而,它可以是一个非常不同的故事,改变团队中的文化,坚持几十年来发展起来的无数据策略。  

教练支持的重要性和“人为因素”

教练支持成为整合新方法和绩效分析的一个重要方面,这是 Catapult 服务的更关键方面之一,也是它如何在球员-教练-团队范式中无缝协作。  

在这一点上,体育数据分析已经存在好几年了,但 Catapult 取得巨大成功的原因之一是它能够设计用户友好的界面并考虑“人为因素”。

“Catapult 的技术非常简单”,Adam 说,运动员将其称为“视频游戏化”,因为该技术如何为玩家呈现目标,就好像它是一个视频游戏一样。

“更重要的是,”亚当说,“运动员意识到你收集这些数据是为了帮助他们和团队表现……因此,我们收集的信息和行动越多——参与其中的每个人都会变得越好。”  

随着 Catapult 的集成技术在垂直方向上变得更加熟悉——从运动员到所有者——一个全面的运动技术平台可以得到培养,并且必将在伤害预防/恢复和冰上取得成功。看看数据就知道了.... 

—> 单击此处下载本手册,探索 Catapult 的 45 项曲棍球特定指标.

图片来源:加拿大曲棍球

Hockey Canada

User Story

Adam Douglas holds a prestigious position in a country where ice hockey is everything. He is the Manager of all Sports Performance for the Men’s National Canadian Hockey team. The team has a long history of involvement with the national teams that won Gold Medals in 2015, 2018, and 2020 for the Men’s World Juniors.

When Douglas is not optimizing performance in Canadien hockey, Adam works for Catapult Sports as an applied sports scientist. Where he focuses on maximizing client experiences and exploring innovative ways of thinking about “Money Puck,” the place where data science can give hockey players a competitive advantage on the ice.

—> Click here to download this brochure to explore Catapult’s 45 Hockey-specific metrics

Hockey Canada 1

“I first learned about Catapult back in 2013 off a YouTube video that first introduced their indoor capabilities,” Adam said.  “At that time, I was working with Hockey Canada’s Women’s program. We were looking for a way to better quantify the on-ice workloads of practices and games.”

As Catapult grew its R&D in the sport of ice hockey and advanced its business lines, it found a better solution for understanding the demands of hockey. This compelled Adam to join the Catapult team and be a part of the pioneering approach to data science, wearables, and ice hockey.

This user story discusses:

  • Customer obsession
  • Technological innovation
  • Injury solution through managing athlete load
  • Using data to improve coach decision-making
  • The importance of coach buy-in and the “human factor”

 

—> Click here to download this brochure to explore Catapult’s 45 Hockey-specific metrics.

Customer obsession

As a leader in the global sports analytics market, Catapult has come through the pandemic focused on customers, continuing to support sports organizations and their athletes through science and data analysis.

“Catapult has developed a stride detection algorithm,” Adam describes, “which enables coaches, athletes, and teams to look at the resultant forces created during each stride while skating.  This provided another layer of information to work with, in conjunction with the regular volume and intensity metrics that Catapult already provides.”

Hockey Canada 3

Technological innovation

While other major sports had begun to integrate data analysis and wearables into their organizational strategies, ice hockey as a sport was slow to embrace this innovation. It was Catapult, one of the first companies to dive into ice hockey, that saw an opportunity to help hockey organizations and their athletes embrace metrics. 

An independent academic paper recently investigated the reliability of Catapult’s systems in identifying specific player movement patterns, which Adam says, “allowed me as a practitioner to have confidence that the system was measuring exactly what was happening on the ice.” 

Catapult’s ability to measure new metrics proves extremely beneficial to coaches and staff by allowing them to understand and analyze the game as well as training and injury management like never before.

“The metric that I use most regularly is called high intensity work duration,” Adam says. “It is essentially a stopwatch that records the amount of time the athletes move or skate above a certain threshold. After doing extensive time-motion analysis and matching up the wearable data with video, I came to realize that most hockey movements or hockey happens in Playerload bands 3 and 4. This metric provides myself, coaches, and athletes the ability to see what happens during practice to make sure we are maximizing our time working at or near game intensity in drills.”

Hockey Canada 4

Injury solution through managing athlete load

While every team wants to “win” on the ice, there are also larger organizational priorities for teams that can carry significant financial implications when a player is injured. Injured players are still paid, and multiple injured players means not only financial loss, it can mean losing on the ice.  

As such, managing training and recovery data can aid in making the most sound decisions in both the short and long terms, variables that all coaches and hockey organizations should be given the opportunity to consider, which Catapult offers through its tools and analyses.    

“The biggest help the (Catapult) technology has been able to do,” Adam shares, “is within performance monitoring. We are able to plan the physical and physiological load for the day and measure it. We talk about ‘planning the work then working the plan.’ Injuries are a big part of sport but with the help of Catapult’s technology injuries are minimized and also shortened.”

Hockey Canada 5

Using data to improve coach decision-making

“Every on-ice session has a volume and intensity goal – and the coaches plan the session based on the technical/tactical outcomes.  Once the session is complete, the staff will review the data to make sure that we hit the physical performance goals within the session,” Adam describes.  

“If we do – then we can proceed with the plan…if we missed the desired goal then we strategize what we need to change on subsequent days.”

It’s one thing to look at the sheer numbers and data of sports analytics, which often make organizational decision-making easy.  It can, however, be a very different story changing culture on a team, which adheres to data-less tactics that have developed over decades.  

The importance of coach buy-in and the “human factor”

Coach buy-in becomes an essential aspect of the integration of new methodologies and performance analysis, which is one of the more critical aspects of Catapult’s services and how it seamlessly collaborates within the player-coach-team paradigm.  

Data analysis in sport has been around, at this point, for several years, but one of the reasons for Catapult’s meteoric success is its ability to design user-friendly interfaces and consider the “human factor.”

“Catapult’s technology is so easy”, Adam says, that athletes refer to it as “video gamification” because of how the technology presents objectives for the player as if it were a video game.

“More importantly,” Adam says, “athletes realize that you are collecting this data to help them and the team perform…therefore the more information that we collect and action off – the better everyone involved will be.”  

As Catapult’s integrated technology becomes more familiar vertically — from athlete to ownership — a well-rounded sports technology platform can be nurtured and is bound to lead to success both in injury-prevention/recovery AND on the ice. Just look at the data…. 

—> Click here to download this brochure to explore Catapult’s 45 Hockey-specific metrics.

Image Credit: Hockey Canada